July 20, 2013

  • Dinner & a Movie

    “Red 2″ did not disappoint.  A great collection of characters (and their stunt doubles) use their wits and old school skills to keep evil from prevailing over good.  Good chase scenes.  Lots of action & snappy dialog.  I suspect the actors had fun making this film.

    Since we went to the matinee, we ate afterwards.  We went to the Barn & Grill, which was a Hen House Restaurant in a previous “life”.  I ordered off the seniors menu, although I am technically not quite a senior.  I had fried perch (which was done to perfection…crispy cornmeal crust and not greasy) with slaw (a little sweeter than I prefer) and green beans (seasoned with bacon and onion).  All meals are served with wonderful dinner rolls and honey butter.  Not a low fat or diet meal by any stretch of the imagination, but at they resembled “normal” portions.  

    Since we knew we were eating out after the movie, I fixed a fruit plate with cottage cheese for lunch.  We had cantaloup, kiwi, and apple.  We may also have a repeat fruit plate tomorrow for lunch.  I plan to do the bisquick “impossible” zucchini & tomato pie for supper.  Maybe with gazpacho.  

    We had a brief thunderstorm and some rain this afternoon.  There were some dark clouds about sunset, but I think it all went north of us.  The cicadas were “singing” and the lightening bugs just rising up from the grass when we got home.  

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *