February 23, 2013

  • A Lazy Day

    It got above freezing, so there was some thawing, which means that this sleet has turned into a 2+” thick sheet of ice.  Dennis is on the church maintenance committee (Board of Trustees is the fancy name they call it) and he talked to the other members. They all agreed that considering their ages and the amount of ice to be removed, they should hire someone to plow out the church parking lot and sidewalks.  Of course there will still be work that has to be done in the morning, but the hardest part of the job has been taken care of.  Dennis went to Lowe’s in Rolla and got more bags of salt and sand to put on the refrozen water/ice in the morning.  It’s supposed to drop back down in the teens tonight.

    Dennis talked with Paul tonight.  Making plans for our visit Spring Break.  WooHoo!  I can’t wait to hug that boy…who is 29 and probably doesn’t consider himself a boy any more.  Trying to figure out the best place to spend our time…having Paul come to LA and hang out in there or if Hannah can arrange days off and all of us hang out at his house in Sacramento.  We don’t care where we spend our time; it’s just about being with our kids.  

    We had Indian Summer Soup with pita bread tonight.  I had to use regular split (green) peas because no one around here had the yellow kind the recipe called for.  But we had some butternut squash from our garden still hanging around in the basement, and some shredded coconut I froze earlier this year.  At some point I WILL make that coconut cream pie.  All cooked in vegetable broth with cumin, garlic and red pepper for seasoning.  It was good.

    I spent part of the afternoon making cards…since I’m a Troglodyte and still hand write letters/notes and use snail mail.  I have 2 aunts who do not have computers or internet, and a dear friend who is also a troglodyte and writes me wonderful letters. For my friends and relative who have computers, I keep my blog.  Because I AM the center of the universe and everyone wants to know what I am doing. silly

     

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *