March 27, 2013

  • The Beach

    We headed for the Santa Monica pier after breakfast.  We got a photo of Dennis at the END of Route 66 sign; we also got a photo of him with a parrot. We saw 2 seals in the back of someone’s boat, tied up at the pier.  Later we saw the boat owner shooing the seals out of the boat and they went on their merry way.  We walked along the beach for a while.  Seaweed was washing up and there were quite a few people enjoying playing out in the waves.  A few surfers.  I didn’t realize until later that I’d gotten some tar on the bottom of my feet.  Just a couple of spots but it is hard to get off. 

    We rented bicycles and rode from The Santa Monica Pier down to Venice Beach. We did some people watching and got hamburgers, fries & a coke at a beach food stand. It was good but I had some fries I didn’t want to finish eating.  I thought I’d just toss them into the grass near where we were sitting. Bad idea.  The sea gulls and the pigeons were both very aggressive and thought I should provide them with more fries.  Fortunately we just hopped on our bikes and rode away.

    Now we are back at the hotel, showering and napping.  Hoping to get a second wind before we go in search of supper.

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *