May 2, 2013

  • rhubarb robbery

    Tuesday evening I discovered this in our yard.  Dismembered rhubarb leaves.  Tonight I received ths

    rhubarb pie.   How many “thieves” do you know who return the item stolen in a much more desirable and tasty form???  Thank you, neighbor!

    Wednesday the library officially transferred from the James Foundation to the City of St. James.  The building is still standing, the lights are on, and even if it didn’t go “without a hitch”, it went smoother than many predicted.  Linda & Niki figured out their own work schedule for the this week and next week.  I’m volunteering 10-2 on Saturday to fill one of the “gaps” where only one “paid” employee is present.  Next will be to train volunteers and get them plugged into the schedule.  As Lynn so wisely said, “Love Your Library”.  Come be a part of something new and exciting.  

    This afternoon a student came into my office and said,  ”Every time I breathe I feel like lava is coming out of my mouth.”   Dramatic but what does it mean? (Honestly, my first thought was bad breath…)   It did NOT mean he had a fever.  He hadn’t eaten any jalepenos.  The only thing I could find wrong was that his throat was red.  So I had him do a warm salt water gargle…he left quite put out because I didn’t think he needed to go home.  As the door was closing behind him, he told me “That didn’t help my throat one little bit.”   Sorry.

    It’s raining.  Temperatures are falling…to near freezing.  Snow could happen but of course it won’t stick. Saturday is the St. James 5th Annual Sip N Savor…so bundle up.  Don’t let the weather dampen your spirits.  

     

     

     

     

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *