July 16, 2013

  • Much Ado

    After much debating, I decided to make a small attempt at kraut.  The 1 gallon glass container was stuffed full of cabbage, which was salted and smushed down.  I’m using a gallon ziplock bag of water to continue compressing and keeping the fermentation anaerobic.  the jar is now about 1/3 full.  In 3 weeks we should have kraut.

    Monday I babysat Jax.  On the way to Springfield, I saw a big billboard advertisement for Oasis Camel Dairy.  Really?  Of course it is located in California.   Camels seem to be popular these days.  There was the Joe Camel cigarette campaign which I hope is no longer active.  And who can resist the insurance “hump day” camel. Will Camels become the new emu?  St. James doesn’t allow a chicken in every backyard, but what would they say about a camel?

    Monday was measuring tape day.  Jax was on top of it.  He also had a bowl on top of his head.  He was in high spirits and going full throttle. We had a great afternoon together.

    On the way home I stopped at Captain D’s for some shrimp.  Monday night I had severe pain in by back right shoulder.  This pain has been going on intermittently for a while now.  This morning I was at my doctor’s office for my annual wellness exam and mentioned it. Thursday afternoon I’m having an ultrasound of my gall bladder.  I’ve got most of the 4 F’s for gall bladder disease:  female, fair, fat but I missed the 40 by a decade.  I’m not jumping to conclusions, but my symptoms are textbook.

    I finished the last book (A House Divided) of the Good Earth trilogy.  I was happy with the ending.  It is a good saga.  Now I am reading a thriller by James Patterson, Kiss the Girls.   I think it is the next book after Along Came a Spider; although there is a sequel he wrote later about the villain in Spider, called Cat & Mouse.  I read Cat & Mouse after Along came a Spider.  Now I’m going to try to read them in the order they were written…but not back to back to back.  That would be too intense.  I’ll need other books in between them.

     

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *