November 16, 2012

  • Friday, Friday….Thank God it’s Friday

    At one point this morning, I was seriously worried about surviving this day.  I don’t even know where to begin.  Miscommunication.  Missing students.  Anonymous phone call accusing other parents of being dead beats, dirty bums and their kids having all kinds of communicable bugs and diseases.  One of the secretaries had also been told the same accusations and was extremely distressed.  I told her I considered it gossip and I wasn’t going to believe a person who refused to give her name.  The person sounded spiteful and not concerned for the child—wanted the parents to get into trouble.  A talk with teacher confirmed that student showed no signs of accused “ailments”.  ugh.  But at the end of the day, all problems were dealt with, all students were located, and I clocked out on time.  Vive le weekend.  

    I started Out Live Your Life at lunch today.  Only on chapter 3 and it is already raising some interesting questions…if you’d lived in Germany during Hitler’s rise to power would you have spoken out against him?  If you’d lived in South Africa (assuming you are white…) would you have spoken out against racial injustice?   How will you answer your grandchildren when they realize you had more than you needed while there were people starving, children in orphanages, people suffering from illnesses that a simple vaccination could prevent…and ask what you did to help. Not sure of the validity of ALL his facts and figures, but the premise is good…if “all” Christian families would adopt one orphan in Africa, there would be more than enough families to solve the problem…today.  But of course more parents die of disease or war daily, so it’s really a never-ending problem.  I could definitely be doing more, although I don’t see me adopting anyone at this point in my life.  

    Thanksgiving plans have changed a bit.  It seems Matt, Sara & Jax will be at our house on Wednesday instead of Thursday. I’ll make a Mexican meal that evening. It’s the easiest gluten-free cooking I know, and everyone (in our family) likes it.   Hopefully my parents will be able to come up Wednesday afternoon & spend the night.  Then we’ll just go ahead with Thanksgiving as planned, minus those 3.  A little sad they won’t even be able to stop by on Thursday, but we’ll have a good time Wednesday.  I plan to make gluten-free gingerbread men and we can all decorate them.  Mimi & Pepe need to get some fun traditions going for Jax.  

    Meanwhile, it’s time to make sure I turn off the alarm and go to bed.  It’s been a long week.

     

     

     

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *