November 23, 2012

  • A Quiet House

    It’s just me, Dennis, the dog & cats tonight.  The last load of laundry is in the dryer (running) and the last load of dish is in the dishwasher (also running).  Hopefully all our guests are now safely back at home.  

    Wednesday Jax, Matt & Sara arrived in time for lunch.  We hung out for a while after eating (Jax took a nap) and then went for a nice walk in the park.  On the way home we stopped at the persimmon tree (an annual tradition since we moved here). Matt & I ate a persimmon.  Dennis cut open a seed. It’s definitely a spoon, which (according to my upbringing) means SNOW.  And I dissed the Old Farmer’s Almanac a bit too soon.  It’s turned cold and there is a chance of rain turning to snow on Monday.  YIKES!

    My parents joined us for a Mexican Fiesta Wednesday evening. Sara put a handful of “puffs” on the table for Jax to nibble on while we ate.  Then we decorated sugar cookies.When Jax got tired of all the cookie decorating, he & his parents headed to Sara’s parents where they were spending the night.

    Thursday Mary, Roy & Bob joined us for Thanksgiving.  We had all the traditional foods–turkey, dressing, cranberry sauce, sweet potatoes, regular potatoes, gravy, salad, green bean casserole, Parker house rolls (which didn’t rise as high as they should have but still tasted ok) and pecan pie.  Lots of chatting and story telling in the afternoon. Left-overs for supper, followed by Mexican Train.  Everyone in bed by 9 PM.  

    I joined my parents in some Black Friday shopping at the Outlet Mall in Osage Beach.  It was only 42 with a cold north wind blowing.  It made the sales on heavy sweaters and wool hats a little too tempting.  My dad was able to fill up with gas that was only $3.04/gal. in Osage Beach/Lake of the Ozark.  It’s at least 20c more around here. 

    There are many things I am grateful for.  I am grateful that I still have Saturday and Sunday to recover/get things accomplished before going back to work on Monday.

     

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *