November 20, 2012

  • When Tuesday is a Friday

    It was a short work week at RMS.  Brenda and I were able to finish the last 3 6th grade classes hearing & vision screenings as well as deal with the usual nurse's office activities.  It was nice to be able to say "Mission Accomplished" when I clocked out this afternoon.  

    Of course the real work labor of love started after I got home this afternoon.  Boiling chicken for enchiladas Wednesday night for the "fiesta" we'll be celebrating with Matt, Sara, Jax & my parents.  Boiled eggs are cooling to make tuna salad for sandwiches for lunch Wednesday.  My parents will be coming up Wednesday. My mom called and said their water heater leaked and they have a big mess to clean up...and no hot water.  So they may be showing up with dirty laundry and in need of a shower tomorrow.  Kind of like I used to do back when I was in college.  silly  Gluten-free brownies are baking.  Still need to bake the cornbread for dressing on Thursday...which will be a traditional Thanksgiving meal.  Matt, Sara & Jax will be eating their turkey with her family on Thursday.  I bought the turkey yesterday and it is thawing in our refrigerator.  I have a list and hopefully will be able to get it all done.

    Looking at the Old Farmer's Almanac, I can't say I'm impressed by the weather predictions so far.  The 17-21 were supposed to be sunny, mild and then cold.  It started out cold and has been sunny and mild the past few days.  We'll see if the 22-26 turn out accurate.  It has it rainy, turning to snow, then cold and sunny.

    Back to the kitchen...cornbread is calling.