June 30, 2013

  • Semi-sunny Sunday

    Cooler weather continues.  Even predictions for the 4th of July are only 85 degrees.  We had some wind and rain last night.  A few small limbs down in the yard. No obvious damage. 

    I made one batch of dill pickles from the cucumbers I got at the Farmer’s Market.  I looked for but didn’t find my mom’s recipe for stuffed cabbage leaves.  I found what seemed to be a similar recipe in a cookbook, but it wasn’t as good.  I also boiled the last of the corn on the cob from Kroger.  I have a chicken to rotisserie for tomorrow.  

    Dennis and I walked around the yard, looked at the garden.  Discussed what to plant next when the beets and onions, & garlic are all pulled–after 4th of July.  Basil is up.  Cilantro looks wonderful.  Beans are about to bloom. More blooms on tomatoes.  

    I started reading the final book in the Good Earth Trilogy, A House Divided.  For all the pride fathers have in their sons, and the plans they make, sons in these books tend to disappoint.  Not that the books aren’t interesting, because they are.  Not only are the sons “rebellious” but China itself is changing and becoming “modern”.  

    Tomorrow is July 1.  I cannot believe how fast the month of June flew by.  August 5, I will be back at work. Time flies when you are having fun.

      

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *