April 24, 2013

  • Snow & Flowers

    It was 34 degrees and snowing when I went to work this morning.  Of course it melted as soon as it hit the ground, but it was seriously coming down for a while.  It warmed up to almost 60 this afternoon; sunshine with a cool breeze. Near freezing again again tonight, but no snow.

    We brought the hanging basket of petunias in the house last night.  Will bring it in again tonight.

    The dogwood is in full bloom. The late afternoon sun makes the leaves & flowers look like they are almost glowing.

    The lilacs are starting to bloom. 

    I was sad to hear that over 100 more garment workers in Bangladesh were killed when their factory collapsed.  It was just a few months ago over 100 died in a garment factory fire.  I came home and started looking at the labels in my clothes.  The majority were made in China, with a few “assembled” in Haiti, Mexico, & Dominican Republic.  One t-shirt said Made in Viet Nam.  Some labels were so worn that I couldn’t read even read the brand or the size. The only garment I found made in the USA is the old (pushing 20 years old) plaid “barn jacket” (that’s a style–boxy with pockets) from Coldwater Creek.  The shirts I bought last spring at JC Penney’s were made in Bangladesh.  I don’t know if this will change my buying habits, but I will look at labels on clothing again.  

    Today’s humor was a boy who came in with a real medical emergency at lunch.  His friend spilled spaghetti sauce on his new shoes with WHITE shoelaces and his mom was going to KILL him.  

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *