June 20, 2013

  • Totaled

    the VW is totaled.  I got the call today.  I am sad.  At some point the insurance company will decide how much to give me for the deceased car.  So now, due to no fault of my own, I am looking for a different car.  I may sound whiney, but damn it, I really like that VW.  It was cute, dependable, zippy, and got good gas mileage. ARG.

    Last night Dennis & I attended a fun dinner…the James Foundation thanked the library board members, and others,  for hard work done (and hard work that will continue) to keep the library running.  the James Foundation originally funded the library, as well as the pool and park, here in St. James.  It is gradually turning over all it’s responsibilities to the city/people of St. James.  It was a fun dinner…lots of chatting during the meal,and only positive comments were made in the “speeches” afterwards.  The woman on the left in the white shirt is a representative of the James foundation, the back row on left is our city manager.  the man in red on right is our mayor and next to him is our STJ head person for the James Foundation.  I know he has a proper title, but I’m not sure what it is.  :)   The rest of us are board members.  I’m 2nd left in the green shirt.  We are a motley crew. 

    Summer is here.  90′s, high humidity and lots of mosquitoes.

    This afternoon I volunteered in the library.  It was summer reading program day.  Lots of people.  Checked books in. Checked books out.  Put books on shelves.  Learned how to do the summer reading “tickets”…the more time spent reading, the more tickets a kid gets.  There are different “boxes” for various prizes.  The person puts tickets in the boxes he/she is most interested in winning.  I didn’t get to see the program, but I know it was a clown who entertained them this afternoon.  

    tonight I am grateful for A/C.  I am also glad that over-ripe bananas can be made into muffins.  

     

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *