October 5, 2012

  • Soup for a Rainy Night

    It was 50 degrees and drizzling when I got up.  That was the warmest point of the day…and the dryest.  It stormed and thundered and poured rain until almost 3 PM.  It was 42 at that point.  Scattered frost is predicted for the next 3 nights, although I think the rain is over.  The rain beat down the lettuce pretty bad.  It’s too muddy to go out to pick eggplant or peppers.  This may be the end of the garden.

    Using the left-over chicken from last night, some boxed chicken stock in the pantry, part of a bag of frozen mixed vegetables and the left-over spaghetti noodles from earlier this week, I made soup.  I even found some biscuits I’d frozen a few weeks ago and re-heated them. It was a tasty meal…and we now have leftover soup.  Kind of a never-ending saga. The Tale of the Left-overs.

    I’m looking forward to a 3 day weekend. No school Monday because it is a teacher development day.  No students, no nurse. Also no pay. Dennis and I plan to be in Springfield.  He & JN will be checking out the well and walking the property line with the legal description (on the place in Oldfield), once they find a survey pin.  Dennis picked up a metal detector at a pawn shop for $10 so hopefully he can find the corner pin nearest to road fairly easily.  I’ll be babysitting Jax.  happy

    Even though it isn’t Halloween yet, I’m having to fast forward to Thanksgiving.  We are hosting this year and 12 guests have been officially invited.  Since it isn’t a formal sit down dinner, numbers may vary/fluctuate a bit. I haven’t planned the menu or made the schedule/to do list yet, but my mom has already volunteered to do pecan pies and 7 layer salad.  I’m hoping I can also talk her into her “real” cranberry sauce…or at least sharing her recipe. 

    I’ve been listening to Joan Baez on Spotify.  She has such a beautiful voice.  I especially like the folk songs she sings.  And prefer versions of most of Bob Dylan songs.

     

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *