October 23, 2012

  • Tuesday

    Today I wore a red sweater...and got to wear jeans because it was a "spirit day"...wearing Red to celebrate "Red Ribbon Week" which is to encourage students to be drug free.  Must dress extra nice Wednesday and Thursday because of Parent/Teacher conferences.  No school on Friday--Three Day Weekend! WooHoo!  Today wasn't as busy and I was able to play "catch up" on some paperwork. That's always a good thing.

    Last night, at 8:17, our power went out.  No warning.  It seemed as though the entire area was blacked out.  I called a friend who has REA electricity and they had power.  Dennis and I consider ourselves prepared for such "emergencies" but this one caught us flat-footed.  The first flashlight Dennis found didn't have any batteries in it.  I couldn't find the matches to light the candles.  We finally got it together and had candles lit and batteries in the radio... Rolla had electricity.  Armageddon had not arrived.  It was a little after 9 when the power came back on.  Seems like since we're paying more to have our "grid" improved, we get more outages.  

    Keurig.  Do I want one?  I have friends who have them and love them.  I like the idea of one cup of coffee (since Dennis doesn't drink coffee). Unfortunately they are pricey to buy plus the little cups...more expensive than regular coffee (although fancier blends, flavors, etc).  It took me a long time to come around to owning a Kindle, but e-books don't use paper and I don't have to find space for more books.  On the down side, I can't share my E-books.  But I think the biggest negative about the Keurig is the plastic cups that each cup off coffee comes in.  Not easy to recycle around here.  Yes, there is a re-useable cup that you can put regular coffee in, but what is the real advantage of that?  Might as well brew a pot of coffee.  Or get a little single cup coffee pot.  Ok, the jury is still out, but I think they are getting close to a verdict.

Comments (4)

  • I always say, when in doubt, do without.

  • I don't care for those one cup things... There was one in the break room at my old job and I found the coffee to be weak and kind of icky. I brew 8 o'clock beans with some cinnamon in the grinder with the beans. When my husband's away, I just brew less than a full pot. It's not that hard to figure out - a little trial and error to find what strength I like in a short pot, but I like that better than pre-measured, redundantly packaged, over processed fake coffee.

  • @oceanstarr - 

    Thanks. :) Your coffee with the cinnamon sounds wonderful. I usually brew a full pot and re=heat the next day. I have a cup at home and one for the road. After the 2nd day I dump what is left. Which is not a lot. :P

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment