October 30, 2012

  • A day from hell

    I knew the day wasn't going as planned when my co-worker was subbing for a sick nurse at another school...I was flying solo with the flu clinic at the middle school.  Even with back up, I don't think the day would have had a happy ending. 

    I had a volunteer show up 30 min. before clinic starting time.  She sat in my office making comments on how she never thought she'd be a volunteer for Public Health (as in slumming it) because she was as ER nurse.  She had no idea that a school nurse would be busy...like I lounge around eating bonbons and doing what? So I deliver her to the cafeteria at 1:30 (she walked SO SLOW I wondered how in the heck was she an ER nurse).  I found out later the health dept nurse was snotty to the secretaries and flounced back to the cafeteria without bothering to tell me they were there.  Who dares to be snotty to the RMS secretaries...that really chaps my hide.   Then the health dept nurse gets all snotty about how I was supposed to have the students divided by grade and room to be called to the cafeteria, which is exactly what I just finished telling her I had done.  The 2 volunteers who were supposed to get the students and bring them to the cafeteria shuffled  SO SLOWLY you could hardly tell they were moving.  I had 63 signed permission forms and 1.5 hours to get the shots/mist administered.  I'd spent hours colating the 3 pieces of information (940 in each of the 3 piles), counting them into classes and putting them in teachers boxes, collected the signed sheets, and had a list of students by grade and classroom waiting for the health department. And this person was being snotty to me?  It went downhill from there.  In the end I had the wonderful secretaries do an "all call" the last half hour for the students they hadn't gotten to (after one of the volunteers told me I was lying and had the students in the wrong classes when she couldn't find them).  At 3 PM when I went down to see how things were going and get a list of who didn't (or did) get the flu shot/mist...they were GONE.  The clinic was supposed to last until 4 PM.  So I have no list of who didn't get shots/mist.  I have a list of permissions forms that I made.  Sheesh. Tomorrow when parents call, I plan to deny any accountablilty and give the parent the health dept. number.  It is their problem. They did not follow the procedure they laid out.  Just shoot me. No good deed goes unpunished.

     

Comments (1)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment