October 31, 2012

  • Happy Halloween!

    I'm not doing much for Halloween this year.  I participated in the big food carry in for the teachers & staff.  I brought 2 bags of corn tortilla chips and 2 jars of peach salsa.  One person brought a much too realistic "kitty litter cake".  I did have some of the jello brain.  I think we all "grazed" on the goodies most of the morning.  Then kids brought me candy and cupcakes and cookies in the afternoon.  It was a good day.

     Dennis is at the church helping with "trunk or treat".  I'm boiling (after peeling and chopping) the last of last falls sweet potatoes.  I'll then smash them.  Time to start experimenting with sweet potato pie recipes. Maybe bake some sweet potato biscuits. MMMM.  Dennis plans to dig this years sweet potatoes Friday. He dug a few already and it looks like it will be a good crop.

    Tomorrow is November 1, the beginning of the 2013 Old Farmer's Almanac.  Almanac means calendar of the heavens. November starts with a waning moon, and then a full moon on the 28th. The first 5 days are predicted to be mild with showers. In general the winter for the midwest will be above average temperatures and above average precipitation, with normal snowfall. Snowfall is predicted mid to late November.  I'm looking forward to seeing how this all plays out. 

Comments (2)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment