November 13, 2012

  • Can't cure stupid

    I'm finally adjusted to the "fall back" time.  The past 2 days I've managed to get out of bed with minimal grumbling and stumbling.  Another frosty morning, but the sun was shining by the time I got to work.  I was in a good mood, and looking forward to another day at work.  Unfortunately one of my first encounters was with a mom who just wanted to pick a fight with someone...and that was me.  Her daughter called her before school started and before she got to my office...and the mom was on the phone while I was assessing the daughter and her alleged illness (I was of the opinion she was good to stay at school), telling me why my decision that her daughter was ok to stay at school was ALL WRONG.  I told mom she didn't have a fever...mom wanted to know just exactly what I considered a fever and I said over 100.  Her mom then informs me that she had a medical document from when her daughter was in kindergarten, stating that over 98 was a fever for her daughter (her temperature was 97.9).  Then she wanted to know if her daughter had strep...I said all I could tell from looking was her throat looked a little red.  So after telling me off about how she knew her daughter and I didn't, blah blah bah, I told her she was welcome to pick her up and take her home it that was what she wanted to do. So she sent the dad (who works...and the mom was at home, not working) to pick up the student.  I didn't even bother to mention that the student had missed 12 days of school so far this year, because I knew it wouldn't make a difference.  You can't cure stupid.

    Fortunately everyone I dealt with after that was (comparatively) nice. It was a busy day and then I had to make deliveries (engraving) and run a few errands.  I decided to pick up Papa Murphy's thin crust chicken with mediterranean veggies pizza. It was very good. 

    I got the front & back of Jax's stocking cut out, along with the  "cuff" and embroidered his name on it.  Tomorrow I start cutting out and applique-ing all the pieces.  

    It was a good night for TV. NCIS, NCIS:LA; and Vegas.  Call me a couch potato...

Comments (1)

  • Your situation must be one of the least desirable, power-wise. Even the worst mom will become demonstrably protective of HER (get the ego?) child. You can't bless out the mom. She knows it. The hyena zeros in on what seems to it to be the most weak and vulnerable wildebeest in the herd. Lunch time..

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment