February 11, 2013

  • Birds Singing

    Birds were singing again this morning when I woke up.  The "backyard birder" was on the local public radio station, talking about the kinds of birds we are seeing in the area.  In my case, it is more hearing than seeing.  He also encouraged people to take part in the Great Backyard Bird Count, which is Feb 15-18.  You have to sign up and commit to counting birds at least 15 minutes once a day on those 4 days.  I haven't checked out the site, but I might do it, just to figure out what some of the less common birds we see are.  There is an on-line guide to figuring out the species at the site (so I'm told). 

    Last night I watched a couple of episodes in "The Walking Dead" marathon, in preparation for the new episode.  It looks like Rick has gone off the deep end, as well as The Governor.  Scary times ahead and not just from the Zombies.

    Dennis bought some broccoli seeds and got them started after work tonight.  He didn't find the variety he researched and we talked about, but it's a different type than what we've been planting (Goliath & Waltham 29) but not with good results.  I think he said it was Green Sprout.  It's considered an heirloom seed and brought to the USA by Italian immigrants. 

    The Coconut Shrimp Soup was good.  I have 2 more recipes I'd like to try at some point.  Tonight I reheated the leek & tomato soup from last week.  It's history.

    Today was sunny and in the 40's.  Tonight in the 20's with rumors of snow.