February 20, 2013

  • Winter Storm

    It's coming.  No doubt about it.  When will it arrive?  Will it be snow, sleet or freezing rain?  And how much?  No one knows. 

    I'm a little freaked out right now.  Not about the weather but all the violence in Los Angeles.  My daughter lives there.  A dead woman was found in a water tank on the roof of the Cecil Hotel in downtown Los Angeles.   She had been missing a few days. They found her because the guests were complaining of low water pressure.  I'm creeped out because that is where Dennis and I stayed a year ago.  I'd already decided on a different hotel this year.  Not because I thought where we stayed was dangerous, but because of the parking (or lack of parking/cost of parking) issue.  

    MODoT sent workers home early today, so they could come in tonight...because there is a chance of some precipitation arriving during the night.  I don't know if they'll be spreading salt/chat mixtures ahead of the storm, or getting the plows ready to go. Even though schools around the area have already announced a snow day, Rolla Public Schools sent its students and teachers home with the advice "Plan to be here tomorrow".  

    And on that note, I'm going to bed.