February 21, 2013

  • Snow Day

    It was 5:20 AM when I got the call...saying Rolla Public Schools were not in session due to predicted winter storm.  At that point, there was no sign of the impending weather.  I turned off the alarm and went back to sleep.  I woke up to the sound of Dennis scraping the bottom of his cereal bowl with the spoon and sleet.  I think we have between 2 & 3" of sleet with a little ice glazing from some freezing rain mixed in with the sleet.  Dennis put a tarp over the windshield of the VW, just in case I had to go in to work today.  My mom called.  In Arkansas they were getting freezing rain, but not enough to cause broken tree branches of downed electric lines. Even though Governor Nixon declared a state of emergency for the entire state, we got lucky.  If this had been freezing rain, it would have been really bad. There would have been lots of people with no electricity. 

    Dennis napped most of the day.  I did a few quiet projects around the house.  About supper time I got a call saying no school again tomorrow.  2 of the 3 snow days are now gone.  I'm not going to say I am not enjoying these unplanned days off, but I hope we don't miss any more school.  I want Spring break and to get out on time in May.

    Even though I stayed inside, our neighbors got out and enjoyed the slippery conditions.The dad is pulling 2 kids on a sled behind his little tractor/mower. They had a great time. If we lived near hills, they could have been sledding.  

    When it was time for Dennis to go to work, he managed to get his truck stuck in the neighbors driveway. (I have no clue what he was doing in that driveway...)  I went out and helped get it in the road so he could drive to work.  And by helped, I mean I was inside the cab; I gently gave it gas and slowly released the clutch while he pushed. 

    One of my quiet projects this afternoon was looking for recipes using only ingredients I have in the house.  Tomorrow we will have Salmon Patties with coconut curry sauce and asparagus (canned).  

     

Comments (2)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment