April 18, 2013

  • Flooding

    After last summer/fall's drought, we now have too much water.  Our rain gage had 1.8" in it when I got home from work. Places south and east of us, especially along rivers, are evacuating.  Electricity has been shut off to some areas to prevent fires and possible electrocution of rescuers.  East St. Louis is evacuating some neighborhoods.  Will this turn into another flood like 1993?  Our yard is a swamp but our house is dry. The plants in the garden look very sad. To add insult to injury, it might get down to freezing tonight.  Last night we had spinach/chicken salad in pita pockets because it was 82 degrees and I didn't want to use the stove.  Tonight I made vegetable soup.

    I have to say that I am proud that a prominent Missourian spoke out against the NRA and resigned his lifetime membership. Adolphus Busch IV spoke out against what the NRA has become:

    "I am simply unable to comprehend how assault weapons and large capacity magazines have a role in your vision," he said. "The NRA I see today has undermined the values upon which it was established. Your current strategic focus clearly places priority on the needs of gun and ammunition manufacturers while disregarding the opinions of your 4 million individual members."

    "One only has to look at the makeup of the 75-member board of directors, dominated by manufacturing interests, to confirm my point. The NRA appears to have evolved into the lobby for gun and ammunition manufacturers rather than gun owners."

    I think that it is not just the NRA that has allowed big business, bankers, and the 1% to have more power.  It is time for the 99% to be as passionate and dedicated to their values and beliefs as the lobbyists paid for by the 1%. Stand up for what you believe/know is right.  All it takes for evil to succeed is for good men to do nothing.  

    It was a relatively good day at work.  I had a LPN student with me.  She got to see a good variety of office visits: the routine daily meds; a few bumps and bruises; the frequent flyers; and a students who needed to go home due to actual illness.  I'm glad tomorrow is Friday, followed by the weekend. Even though it is a chilly & damp 45 degrees, summer break is only a month away.