Month: June 2013

  • Semi-sunny Sunday

    Cooler weather continues.  Even predictions for the 4th of July are only 85 degrees.  We had some wind and rain last night.  A few small limbs down in the yard. No obvious damage. 

    I made one batch of dill pickles from the cucumbers I got at the Farmer's Market.  I looked for but didn't find my mom's recipe for stuffed cabbage leaves.  I found what seemed to be a similar recipe in a cookbook, but it wasn't as good.  I also boiled the last of the corn on the cob from Kroger.  I have a chicken to rotisserie for tomorrow.  

    Dennis and I walked around the yard, looked at the garden.  Discussed what to plant next when the beets and onions, & garlic are all pulled--after 4th of July.  Basil is up.  Cilantro looks wonderful.  Beans are about to bloom. More blooms on tomatoes.  

    I started reading the final book in the Good Earth Trilogy, A House Divided.  For all the pride fathers have in their sons, and the plans they make, sons in these books tend to disappoint.  Not that the books aren't interesting, because they are.  Not only are the sons "rebellious" but China itself is changing and becoming "modern".  

    Tomorrow is July 1.  I cannot believe how fast the month of June flew by.  August 5, I will be back at work. Time flies when you are having fun.

      

  • Sweet Saturday Morning

    It is at least 10 degrees cooler than "usual" this morning.  Sorry to all those west and south of us who are breaking heat records.  I got up and headed to the farmer's market first thing this morning.  Found some nice looking homegrown tomatoes & bought a couple for eating; also got cucumbers to make some dill pickles, and a cabbage.  I hope to find my mom's stuffed cabbage recipe for either supper tonight or tomorrow.  I'd have gotten more tomatoes and made some salsa, but they are still a bit pricey--$2/lb.  And eventually I will have my own.  

    We had a lot of fun playing Mexican Train with the Edwards & Delano families.  Got to catch up on everyone's coming and going.  In spite of frustrations at the unfairness of the game at times, no dominoes were thrown.

    Steamed artchokes from the garden and gazpacho for lunch.  

    The finished mailbox and house numbers project.  Now that it is done, I should have done less green background and more flowers on the mailbox.  I put the numbers higher because I didn't want the lid hitting them when it was opened.  Unfortunately it would look better if the numbers were a bit lower.  Much was learned with this project.

  • Gearing up for Company

    Having friends over for some Mexican Train tonight.  Which is also good groundwork for upcoming 4th of July. 

    Yesterday was a busy day.  Lots of commitments.  Had to get the license plates on the van renewed.  All the ducks were in a row, just had to drive to Rolla, deal with the DMV, and then put the new stickers on the plates.  Bought some fresh vegetables at Kroger.  I hope to get up early Saturday and check out the St. James farmer's market.  I haven't been yet this year.

    I volunteered at the library from 3-5 PM.  Overall, it wasn't busy, but the people seemed to come in spurts rather than a steady pace. 

    We had supper at Colton's.  I had their grilled shrimp.  I've had it before and it's always been good.  Then we saw "Peter Pan".  Since it was an Ozark Actor's Theatre summer production, they brought in a professional to play the role of Peter Pan.  She was very good; but our local talent was up for the challenge. The actor who played the crocodile was very good...He played the part in a humorous (but still deadly) manner. Peter Pan & Tinkerbell.

    Wendy with "Nana".  The same actor played Nana & the crocodile.  Several other members of the cast had dual roles...one in England and one in Neverland.

    I had a good chat with Hannah last night.  She found (at a thrift store) an old pattern to make "MC HAMMER" type pants.  She was sewing them as we talked.  She sent a photo via cell phone, but I hope she posts better ones on Facebook.  She's convinced these pants will make a come-back and she is just ahead of the curve.  Personally I put these pants right up there with the mullet hairstyle for bad ideas. 

     

  • End of a somewhat productive day

    This morning started with Pearl S. Buck on "Writer's Almanac" (NPR).  I miss Garrison Keillor as the commentator.  The Good Earth was mentioned, but not as the first book in a trilogy.  I just finished Sons, the 2nd book.  For all the ambition and pride the fathers had for their sons, none of them turned out quite like expected. Hmmm.  It was an interesting saga to get to that point in this book. Tomorrow I will check the final book, House Divided out of the library.  Since I'll be there volunteering anyway.

    I worked on the mailbox throughout the day.  I got the flowers outlined and 2 coats of polyurethane on it.  I want to do one more coat, to be sure it is really shiny. 

    Got most of the errands around town taken care of.  Made it to adult swim.  Cooked an all veggie supper.  Mashed turnips with crumbled bacon. Beets in orange sauce.  The orange sauce is from Cross Creek Cookery by Marjorie Keenan Rawlings.  It's my favorite "go to" recipe book for fresh veggies from the garden.  I used beets from the garden but you can use canned beets. You combine 1/3 c. sugar, 2T. cornstarch, & a pinch of salt in a small pan.  Add 2 T. butter, and 1 C. orange juice.  Heat over low heat, stirring until thickened (about 5 minutes).  According to MKR, "The sauce transmutes the common beet into a dish one eats for pleasure, not for duty."

    I took photos of all these wonderful foods and the mailbox, but the server will not let me upload them. Perhaps at a later time I can add them.

     

     

  • Happy as a camel....

    Whew.  It's been a busy couple of days.  Monday I had a long list and I stuck to it...mostly.  I went to adult swim and got some exercise and had fun catching up with Julie.  She's also been busy and had company both.   I fussed with the mailbox some more.  Did some engraving and delivered orders.  Got necessary groceries and pet food/supplies.  Cooked supper.  Crashed on the couch.

    Yesterday was fun.  I got to really see how Elmer handled driving to Springfield.  He did good.  It's a change from the 5 speed, but I'm learning how to get into and out of traffic with an automatic.  He's not as zippy as Melvin.  The automatic transmission doesn't shift exactly the way I would. LOL  

    Matt & I had Jimmy John's that I picked up on the way to their house.  Jax was about ready for his nap and went down before Matt left for work.  I brought my Knitting and finished the bottom ribbing on my sweater and did a couple rows of the regular knitting for the body of the sweater.  Once Jax woke up, he ate and we played until Sara got home.  Then it was home again for me.  Jiggity Jig.

    Jax dunking the basketball.

    Jax playing at his activity table.

    We also read some books and "worked" on his vocabulary.  When he is through eating he says "down".  Like get me down from this high chair Mimi. I need to play!

    He also knows bananas, ball, kitty and other food and around the house useful words.  I think he's quite brilliant.  

  • Super Moon

    It is raining.  Heavy clouds and rain predicted most of the night. Looks like I'll miss seeing it in person.

    I've taken it easy most of the day.  I went out to paint some more on the mailbox after Sunday school, but it was too hot.  I finished the background before supper, when it started clouding up and cooling down. I got the background finished.  Now I have to do all the black outlining.  Dennis will hang the numbers above it.  I'll seal it with a few coats of glossy acrylic.  It will be good to have this project finished.

    Sara named my new car...Elmer.  As in white Elmer's glue.  And so life goes on.  Melvin will be missed, but I'm looking forward to many years with Elmer.

     

     

     

  • And the winner is....

    The Ford Fiesta.   I may have liked the Honda a bit more, but the people at Hutcheson Ford were nicer and more "transparent".  When I said I wanted a used car and told them what I could afford, the salesman showed me what he considered my best option, which was the "program" Fiesta.  With the price tag written right there on the windshield.  

    After buying the car, it was time to dash off to the Fun Family Day at the library.  Free hot dogs (and they were really good grilled hot dogs too), beverages, home baked cookies, games, books, and a chance to chat with other people checking out the new and improved library.  It was hot and humid when the fun began at 1 PM.  Then it clouded up and there was a bit of a breeze.  So it wasn't unbearably hot.  

    After helping with clean-up, I was happy to come home and take a cool shower.  The A/C felt great.  I'm going to sleep good tonight.

  • Decision

    Today we looked at used cars.  I'm exhausted and a little sunburned.  Nothing like 90+ heat standing/walking around a car lot.  But we have 2 contenders.  Both the same price and very similar qualities.

    A 2012 Ford Fiesta.  It is a "program" or whatever they call it car.  Guaranteed just like a new car.  31,000 miles.  A few more bells and whistles than I "need".  Nice ride. Handled well on the interstate and I could also parallel park it without a problem.  Felt comfortable with the size. A little better MPG than the Honda Fit.  American car...but I've heard rumors that it's built in Mexico City...

    Very similar in size.  This is a 2011 and has 47,000 miles.  Was a little zippier, but MPG not quite as good.  I think it is also a little cuter than the Fiesta.  Warranty not quite as good...but it's a Honda.  They are "easy" to work on and I've only heard good things from people who have owned or worked on them.   Japanese brand...except Honda has factories here in the USA.  

    It's a decision I will have to sleep on...and hopefully I will be able to sleep

  • Totaled

    the VW is totaled.  I got the call today.  I am sad.  At some point the insurance company will decide how much to give me for the deceased car.  So now, due to no fault of my own, I am looking for a different car.  I may sound whiney, but damn it, I really like that VW.  It was cute, dependable, zippy, and got good gas mileage. ARG.

    Last night Dennis & I attended a fun dinner...the James Foundation thanked the library board members, and others,  for hard work done (and hard work that will continue) to keep the library running.  the James Foundation originally funded the library, as well as the pool and park, here in St. James.  It is gradually turning over all it's responsibilities to the city/people of St. James.  It was a fun dinner...lots of chatting during the meal,and only positive comments were made in the "speeches" afterwards.  The woman on the left in the white shirt is a representative of the James foundation, the back row on left is our city manager.  the man in red on right is our mayor and next to him is our STJ head person for the James Foundation.  I know he has a proper title, but I'm not sure what it is.  :)   The rest of us are board members.  I'm 2nd left in the green shirt.  We are a motley crew. 

    Summer is here.  90's, high humidity and lots of mosquitoes.

    This afternoon I volunteered in the library.  It was summer reading program day.  Lots of people.  Checked books in. Checked books out.  Put books on shelves.  Learned how to do the summer reading "tickets"...the more time spent reading, the more tickets a kid gets.  There are different "boxes" for various prizes.  The person puts tickets in the boxes he/she is most interested in winning.  I didn't get to see the program, but I know it was a clown who entertained them this afternoon.  

    tonight I am grateful for A/C.  I am also glad that over-ripe bananas can be made into muffins.  

     

  • Lunch

    I'm not sure how much more productive today was than yesterday, but at least I got out of the house.  

    Dennis called in sick...he was up all night with a stomach virus.  

    When I got back from doing a bit of stitching with the quilting ladies, my VW was being towed off. Now I just have to wait and see if it is totaled or can be repaired Not sure if I will see it again or not.  My daughters friends named the VW "Melvin" when they were in high school.  Sometimes I'd let Hannah borrow the VW when she wanted to go somewhere with friends.  It's been a part of the family for many years.

    The high point of my day was lunch with a couple of fellow school nurses.   We ate at Panera.  I decided to do the "pick 2".  I had tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwich.  This evening, Dennis was up and about.  He was feeling much better, so I asked him what he wanted for supper.  Tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwich.  I didn't tell him that was what I had for lunch.  LOL   Panera served better soup & sandwich than I did.