Month: November 2012

  • au revoir Novembre

    Listening to the Ventures take on Christmas songs.  Just finished eating.  I was tempted to skip cooking but once I tasted the food, I was glad I made the effort.  Baked tilapia with lemon pepper seasoning, peas with a bit of butter and dill, and of course, sweet potatoes.

    I'm getting more into the Christmas spirit.  I had a bit of luck finding some gifts for hard to buy people...like my parents.  And I figured out what I wanted for Christmas...and it goes completely contrary to my earlier declarations that I never wanted anything with a cord/plug in for a gift.  It's a fancy grill/griddle/waffle machine with accurate temperature control (It's a Cuisinart and I even have the model # so there should not be any mistakes made).  The waffle maker I've been using for the past 30 years is becoming a fire hazard--the cord is fraying where it attaches to the body, which is dented and looks very sad.

    Today I had a girl give me another (lame) reason I should send her home.  She sat next to someone who might be sick and her teacher said she felt warm.  She didn't go home. Truth be told, I'd have gladly joined her in going home if I could have. It was in the 60's and sunny. Gorgeous.  It's supposed to be in the 60's this weekend, but rain (much needed) is also in the forecast. 

    Tomorrow is the St. James craft bazaar. I'm looking forward to checking it out with my girlfriends. 

     

     

  • Full Moon

    The full moon was rising, big and orange on the eastern horizon as I was driving home about dusk tonight. Beautiful.  The full moon in November is known as the Beaver Moon or Frost Moon.

     Today was long.  Had a student come in saying he was having a seizure--waving his hands around.  Talking. Walking.  Convinced him he was not having a seizure and needed to go back to class (Special Ed).  Then he decided he had rabies because a cat scratched his arm.  It would have been funnier except this is a case of you can't fix stupid.  I think he got his "wish" to go home later...but as a discipline issue, not illness. 

    Last night I ate at Country Bob's.  I waited until Dennis called me, saying things were slow enough he could take a break and eat with me. It was good home cookin'.  The fried catfish was really good.  Salad bar was not fancy, but adequate.  Stewed tomatoes and boiled cabbage along with the usual mashed potatoes, green beans and corn.  Quite a few cakes, puddings, and the usual cobbler for dessert.  They have a regular menu, but Dennis and I had the buffet so the Kiwanis would get 10% of the proceeds.  It was also a good way for the Kiwanis to get their message out to others, by just being there bussing tables, filling water glasses and chatting with customers.  It was a positive experience.

    Dennis is about to start a long dental road.  First is some gum surgery.  Then bone grafts in his jaws so he can get some dental implants to replace the teeth he had pulled a few months ago.  Sounds expensive and painful.  I'm going to continue to brush and floss my teeth daily.  Maybe twice daily. 

    I'm not sure the almanac is getting the next few days right.  Rainy & mild.  Temperatures are warming gradually, each day and we'll be up to 60 by the weekend.  It's dry so the temperatures are also dropping at night.  No rain is in the forecast until the weekend...and it will be December.

  • Random Flakes

    I believe the weather person when she said there was a chance of a few flakes tonight. It is 35 and supposed to drop to 23.  The humidity is 66% so I can believe there will be some snow tonight in this Zone 10 that the Almanac said would get snow today/tonight.  It's a damp cold that goes to the bones.  BRRRR.  Winter.  Nov 27-30 is supposed to be rainy/mild.  I hope that means things will warm up.

    Today in 1825, at Union College in Schenectady NY, Kappa Alpha society was founded.

    Work was work. No worse or better than any other Monday.  It was nice to see all my special (medication time) students.  One said he ate a whole pumpkin pie.  Their happiness and enthusiasm (however misguided at times) is contagious.  The funniest comment today was from a 6th grader who limped into my office, insisting she had a "compression fraction" in her ankle. 

    Church book club discussed Out Live Your Life.  Nothing profound was said, but it was good fellowship. Next month we are going to discuss books to read in 2013.   

    I just heated up plates of turkey, dressing and sweet potatoes for supper.  Everything left at this point is going into the freezer.  It's not much, fortunately.  Tomorrow night we'll be eating at Country Bob's Cafe.  They are "partner-ing" with the Kiwanis to help raise money to continue the "buddy packs" (non perishable snack type foods sent home with elementary students who probably don't have enough food in the house to eat over the weekend) after recent cuts in funding.  Kiwanis members will bus tables and fill drinks. The owners will donate 10% of all the "buffet" meals eaten on Tuesday, and every 4th Tuesday until May or June.  There will also be a donation can for people to donate extra money to the program.  It will be nice to not cook.

    I'm enjoying all the variety of Christmas music you can find on Spotify.  

     

  • lights

    It got up into the 50's this afternoon.  I helped (as in handed up the strands of lights to Dennis on the ladder) Dennis hang the lights around the house. We also got the tree assembled and "fluffed" (the tree is looking kind of worn out & sad...) and the lights on it.  No ornaments yet.I went out after dark and got this photo of our house & lights. The icicle lights really are very bright.  

    I made a long list of assorted/medley Christmas songs on Spotify and listened to them most of the afternoon. I watched a couple episodes of "Dark Shadows" (it's been a while since I've watched any) and then watched "Walking Dead".  Did another load of laundry.  We ate re-heated turkey carcass soup for supper.  It was definitely a low-key day.  Saving my energy to deal with tomorrow.  I don't think there will be very many people at RMS who really want to be there.   Which makes for a very trying day in the nurses office.

    Our refrigerator is still full of Thanksgiving leftovers.  I think I'll freeze whatever is still in there tomorrow. I like turkey but it will be nice to eat something not turkey. 

    And now it is time to say goodnight.  The alarm will go off long before I'm ready to get up in the morning.

     

  • lights

    It got up into the 50's this afternoon.  I helped (as in handed up the strands of lights to Dennis on the ladder) Dennis hang the lights around the house. We also got the tree assembled and "fluffed" (the tree is looking kind of worn out & sad...) and the lights on it.  No ornaments yet.I went out after dark and got this photo of our house & lights. The icicle lights really are very bright.  

    I made a long list of assorted/medley Christmas songs on Spotify and listened to them most of the afternoon. I watched a couple episodes of "Dark Shadows" (it's been a while since I've watched any) and then watched "Walking Dead".  Did another load of laundry.  We ate re-heated turkey carcass soup for supper.  It was definitely a low-key day.  Saving my energy to deal with tomorrow.  I don't think there will be very many people at RMS who really want to be there.   Which makes for a very trying day in the nurses office.

    Our refrigerator is still full of Thanksgiving leftovers.  I think I'll freeze whatever is still in there tomorrow. I like turkey but it will be nice to eat something not turkey. 

    And now it is time to say goodnight.  The alarm will go off long before I'm ready to get up in the morning.

     

  • squirrel

    It's been cold all day.  The sun was shining, but giving very little warmth.  Tomorrow it may be up to 50.  Dennis and I plan to hang the outside lights.  We talked about putting up the Christmas tree tonight, but neither of us had the energy.  I slept 10 hours last night, but it still wasn't enough.  Hopefully I'll be perkier tomorrow.

    The squirrels continue to hang out in the walnut tree.  They chatter and act extremely annoyed any time Lucas and I walk under it.  I used my big lens & got a photo of this guy munching on a black walnut up in the top branches of the tree. 

    We have new neighbors in the rental house across the street.  They have a pick up truck with some kind of loud muffler...or maybe no muffler. It's loud (did I mention it was really loud?) and they like to rev it up every time they start it up, or before they turn it off.  They are also burning leaves in their yard...it's probably damp enough out after the rain yesterday, that it won't be a problem.  I certainly wouldn't burn leaves that close to my house, but I'm probably just a worry wart.

    My friend Marsha recommended a vampire book/series to me. The first book is The Passage.  So far I'm just reading the "background" and meeting the characters.  I like it so far.  Shades of Stephen King as well as Michael Crichton. A lot more science and explanations, but already a feeling of the cosmos being in a battle of good and evil.  Did I mention the government and military are also involved?

    Tomorrow I will have to devote part of my day to finishing Out Live Your Life by Max Lucado. The book club will discuss it Monday afternoon.  It's about doing good (quietly) and making a big difference.  

    Well, I'm wearing my green pre-snuggie outfit.  It's been called "tela-tubby", "smurf suit (even though it is not bue) and "thing one" (as in Dr. Seuss).  I call it warm & cozy.

  • A Quiet House

    It's just me, Dennis, the dog & cats tonight.  The last load of laundry is in the dryer (running) and the last load of dish is in the dishwasher (also running).  Hopefully all our guests are now safely back at home.  

    Wednesday Jax, Matt & Sara arrived in time for lunch.  We hung out for a while after eating (Jax took a nap) and then went for a nice walk in the park.  On the way home we stopped at the persimmon tree (an annual tradition since we moved here). Matt & I ate a persimmon.  Dennis cut open a seed. It's definitely a spoon, which (according to my upbringing) means SNOW.  And I dissed the Old Farmer's Almanac a bit too soon.  It's turned cold and there is a chance of rain turning to snow on Monday.  YIKES!

    My parents joined us for a Mexican Fiesta Wednesday evening. Sara put a handful of "puffs" on the table for Jax to nibble on while we ate.  Then we decorated sugar cookies.When Jax got tired of all the cookie decorating, he & his parents headed to Sara's parents where they were spending the night.

    Thursday Mary, Roy & Bob joined us for Thanksgiving.  We had all the traditional foods--turkey, dressing, cranberry sauce, sweet potatoes, regular potatoes, gravy, salad, green bean casserole, Parker house rolls (which didn't rise as high as they should have but still tasted ok) and pecan pie.  Lots of chatting and story telling in the afternoon. Left-overs for supper, followed by Mexican Train.  Everyone in bed by 9 PM.  

    I joined my parents in some Black Friday shopping at the Outlet Mall in Osage Beach.  It was only 42 with a cold north wind blowing.  It made the sales on heavy sweaters and wool hats a little too tempting.  My dad was able to fill up with gas that was only $3.04/gal. in Osage Beach/Lake of the Ozark.  It's at least 20c more around here. 

    There are many things I am grateful for.  I am grateful that I still have Saturday and Sunday to recover/get things accomplished before going back to work on Monday.

     

  • When Tuesday is a Friday

    It was a short work week at RMS.  Brenda and I were able to finish the last 3 6th grade classes hearing & vision screenings as well as deal with the usual nurse's office activities.  It was nice to be able to say "Mission Accomplished" when I clocked out this afternoon.  

    Of course the real work labor of love started after I got home this afternoon.  Boiling chicken for enchiladas Wednesday night for the "fiesta" we'll be celebrating with Matt, Sara, Jax & my parents.  Boiled eggs are cooling to make tuna salad for sandwiches for lunch Wednesday.  My parents will be coming up Wednesday. My mom called and said their water heater leaked and they have a big mess to clean up...and no hot water.  So they may be showing up with dirty laundry and in need of a shower tomorrow.  Kind of like I used to do back when I was in college.  silly  Gluten-free brownies are baking.  Still need to bake the cornbread for dressing on Thursday...which will be a traditional Thanksgiving meal.  Matt, Sara & Jax will be eating their turkey with her family on Thursday.  I bought the turkey yesterday and it is thawing in our refrigerator.  I have a list and hopefully will be able to get it all done.

    Looking at the Old Farmer's Almanac, I can't say I'm impressed by the weather predictions so far.  The 17-21 were supposed to be sunny, mild and then cold.  It started out cold and has been sunny and mild the past few days.  We'll see if the 22-26 turn out accurate.  It has it rainy, turning to snow, then cold and sunny.

    Back to the kitchen...cornbread is calling. 

     

  • Long before there were snuggies

    I made this to keep warm around the house. It is kind of a sleeping bag made of fleece with holes  and ribbing for my feet to be free to walk about, and sleeves.  It even has a pocket.  Not only is it warm, but it is ugly.  My boys mocked me when I wore it.  My daughter made me swear to NEVER wear it out of the house, not even in our own yard (in case friends looked thru our chain link fence) and to PLEASE not wear when her friends were visiting.  I just discovered in the back of the closet, and once again, I am proudly wearing it.  

    It's been a beautiful day. Dennis worked in the yard most of the afternoon.  I haven't accomplished much, but I did fix a nice lunch.That's a dip made from a roasted eggplant--with chopped onions, some lime juice and a dash of salt & pepper.  Good stuff.  Also the left-over "Grillin' Beans" that tasted a lot better with the sloppy joe than they did with the fish.  Dennis and I watched a cooking show on PBS while we ate.  It gave me an idea for dressing up our usual tilapia filets...I will crush up some corn chips instead of using Panko bread crumbs. Then add some fresh parsley, chives and dill, finely minced, for a "breading".  The program had bigger/thicker filets and baked the fish after searing the sides in garlic butter.  I think I'll just go ahead and cook the fish completely in the skillet with garlic butter.  Served on a bed of brown rice and a side of green peas with a dill & butter sauce. 

     

  • Friday, Friday....Thank God it's Friday

    At one point this morning, I was seriously worried about surviving this day.  I don't even know where to begin.  Miscommunication.  Missing students.  Anonymous phone call accusing other parents of being dead beats, dirty bums and their kids having all kinds of communicable bugs and diseases.  One of the secretaries had also been told the same accusations and was extremely distressed.  I told her I considered it gossip and I wasn't going to believe a person who refused to give her name.  The person sounded spiteful and not concerned for the child---wanted the parents to get into trouble.  A talk with teacher confirmed that student showed no signs of accused "ailments".  ugh.  But at the end of the day, all problems were dealt with, all students were located, and I clocked out on time.  Vive le weekend.  

    I started Out Live Your Life at lunch today.  Only on chapter 3 and it is already raising some interesting questions...if you'd lived in Germany during Hitler's rise to power would you have spoken out against him?  If you'd lived in South Africa (assuming you are white...) would you have spoken out against racial injustice?   How will you answer your grandchildren when they realize you had more than you needed while there were people starving, children in orphanages, people suffering from illnesses that a simple vaccination could prevent...and ask what you did to help. Not sure of the validity of ALL his facts and figures, but the premise is good...if "all" Christian families would adopt one orphan in Africa, there would be more than enough families to solve the problem...today.  But of course more parents die of disease or war daily, so it's really a never-ending problem.  I could definitely be doing more, although I don't see me adopting anyone at this point in my life.  

    Thanksgiving plans have changed a bit.  It seems Matt, Sara & Jax will be at our house on Wednesday instead of Thursday. I'll make a Mexican meal that evening. It's the easiest gluten-free cooking I know, and everyone (in our family) likes it.   Hopefully my parents will be able to come up Wednesday afternoon & spend the night.  Then we'll just go ahead with Thanksgiving as planned, minus those 3.  A little sad they won't even be able to stop by on Thursday, but we'll have a good time Wednesday.  I plan to make gluten-free gingerbread men and we can all decorate them.  Mimi & Pepe need to get some fun traditions going for Jax.  

    Meanwhile, it's time to make sure I turn off the alarm and go to bed.  It's been a long week.